Mixing custom mold and tulip tips

I’m new to wearing hearing aids (a few months). I am wearing widex evoke fusion 2 hearing aids. I’m having problems getting volume into my left ear with tulip tips. The audiologist I go to is having a custom mold made for my left ear while leaving the tulip tip in my right ear. I haven’t seen anything about mixing tips with custom molds on this forum and was wondering if anyone has done this and how it’s working out for them.

0 Likes

It would definitely depend on your hearing loss in each ear. Not having seen your hearing (and I’m probably going to shoot myself in the foot here), I would guess you may have worse low frequency hearing in your left ear. If this is true, you would definitely feel as though the volume in your left ear is not the same as that which you are hearing in the right.

Quick primer on frequencies and how they relate to hearing: The low frequencies (<1000Hz) are where we get the “power” or volume of sound. Some describe it as the “boom” of sound. The high frequencies are where we get “clarity.” I hear it practically every day in my practice when a person has a typical high frequency hearing loss where their lows are pretty good, but their highs are really poor: “I can hear people talking to me…I just think they’re speaking Korean!” The clarity, or the individual sounds that make words understandable, is gone.

In your case, IF your lows are depressed also, you may have more trouble even hearing the sounds. If the lows in your left ear are worse than those in your right, then sure, you’re going to want to wear a more occluding mold or double dome in that ear.