MFi Drop outs

I am a newbie and am still in a Trial period with Oticon Syia HAs. I’m having a lot of trouble with MFi drop outs. The dropouts are entirely random and I have tried many different things: some suggested by the Audiologist, others by Oticon and some of my own ideas. Nothing seems to work. I have been given a replacement pair, but the drop outs persist. The only way to correct things is to have the jPod forget the aids, shut down the iPod, restart it and reconnect the aids. Easy to do, but can be a real nuisance when I have to do it continually. My iPod touch is version 6 and has the latest iOS (12.1.1).

Has anyone had a similar experience with Oticon HAs, or can offer some advice?

The older cousin of the Syiaused to have a lot of connectivity issues until the latest firmware 6 upgrade. Make sure you’re on the latest Syia firmware version.

I have just gotten my Oticon OPN aids two days ago and I have had mine to drop a couple times. I have the iPhone 7 Plus with the latest update my aids will drop one of the aids but does reconnect. I had the Oticon streamer in the past and it also dropped at times. I believe it is and issue that Apple has and not Oticon

I do have firmware 6 on my aids

Yes, likewise, I have the latest firmware v6.

Interesting that you suggest it is an Apple problem rather than Oticon issue. There just doesn’t seem to be anything we can do from the HAs end of things.

I have sent a detailed account of the problem to Oticon but other than a ‘thank you’ I haven’t heard anything back as yet.

I have had no major issues with my KS6 and lPhone 6. Occasionally only one aid connects at the start of a phone call but it reconnnects.

1 Like