Marvel 30, 50, 70, 90 – same hardware, different software?

Hello there!

I’m not only new to the forum, I’m new to hearing aids, so please bear with me. :slight_smile: Today, I went to an audi with my father to get him his first pair of hearing aids. He’s a musician and voice actor, so we’ll probably be looking for a versatile solution. The audi showed us the newest Marvel models and the different stages they come in. When I asked whether the difference is “only” in software, she seemed to be unsure but leaned towards yes.

A second factor, of course, is the monetary difference. It’s quite considerable, but to be honest, I would be willing and able to pay for the more expensive version. However, I’m afraid that paying more will not give me the ability to tinker with the setup. And worse, that real tinkering would require an amount of hacking that would make my payment towards the software obsolete.

Basically, I would love to have an under-the-hood access to the device (or as much of it as I can get), because I’m afraid that visits to the audi just wont cut it. (Not because of the audi, but because of the setting.)

All that being said, it might be quite enough if I had access to Phonak Target. There’s no need to re-invent the wheel.

I’d be truly grateful for any tips!

Best
Lukas

Hardware of 30 and 50 is the same, and hardware for 70 and 90. If I remember correctly, 70 and 90 has 2 mics while lower ones have 1. Don’t hold me on that though.

Target + noahlink wireless will give you access, however some things just doesn’t exist as an option on lower models.
Like, echo block is only on 90s, and is sw feature that measures echo and cancels it, so can’t be replicated by other features.

50 and 70 don’t have speech in loud noise at all, because that takes 2 has and 4 mics in total to be able to use ultra zoom focus directly in front of you.