Lyric Hearing Aids can also be used as ear plugs?

As several of you already know, I have been trialing hearing aids for a couple of months now. I was talking to an audiologist the other day and she was asking about my work and life style. I was telling her I was in and out of machine shops all day, and I am getting in the habit of taking out my hearing aids, and putting in my custom ear plugs. She asked if I had look into wearing the Lyric’s. Honestly I hadn’t, looks aren’t that important to me as much as speech clarity and I was really just looking at the traditional BTE’s.

Then she mentioned that if I turn the Lyric’s off, they are an effective ear plug, with around a 30db noise reduction. Now this would be great, right now I have to take out my hearing aids, put them in a case, and put in my custom ear plugs. I’m always a little worried about mis-placing one or the other, but the Lyric’s would solve some of that.

Couple of questons–

1. Would the Lyric’s work for my hearing loss?
  2. Would they be any better or worse for speech clarity or speech in noise than a digital?
  3. My low frequency is pretty good, will that be a problem as opposed to an open fit Phonak?
  4. Are they really an effective ear plug with that much db reduction?

She has already mentioned that not everybody can wear them as some people can find them very uncomfortable. (I was measured and fitted, so that part is not a problem). I am used to wearing ear plugs for an extended time, so I don’t think it would be bothersome.

Thanks for taking the time to help me out (again)!

Unless the Lyric has no vent, it will not work as an earplug as far as I know. I could be wrong…but I’d hate to bet your residual hearing on it.

In any case, they aren’t custom fit so there’s going to be a very good chance of peripheral venting, I’d have thought.

The only ones I’ve heard of that act like noise plugs are the ones that get blocked with wax and get stuck in-situ, but that’s a whole other story.