Loving my Starkey Picasso i2400

Hi all, I just want to share how it is going with my new Starkey Picasso i2400 IIC. I am loving it!!! I have had severe high frequency loss on one side only since I was a little kid. I am now 46 years old. Back then there was nothing offered to me as far as help or support for this kind of loss. I just thought it was cool that I didn’t hear the crickets out of one side and did not think any more of it.

Looking back, I realize that it probably did make some social situations a bit more draining or difficult for me than others, but it was subtle. I did have some speech therapy for the “s” sound…but that ended at some point in elementary school.

Fast forward to ten years ago. I tried a HA for the first time. It was a Sonic Innovations mini BTE. I loved it at first. I am a teacher, so I loved how it helped me to hear soft-spoken students that were not in the first row.

However, I didn’t love that you could see it when I wore my hair up. I also had a really hard time fully accepting that I really should be wearing a HA at all, since I had gone through life without anything, and my hearing hadn’t changed. Part of me felt like I was being overly dramatic.

Every summer vacation, I would stop using it. I also tried an America Hears BTE so I could adjust it myself whenever I liked, and that was good, but once summer came, I stopped using it. I would go back and forth using it or not. I tried an IIC but I don’t think it was well made or adjusted. It didn’t sound good at all. That got lost in the back of a drawer, too.