Just ordered HA, this has been an experience; Audiologists, hearing loss, tinnitus, recruitment

I am new here so thank you for allowing me to post. Please understand I have a lot more questions than I do knowledge.

I have always known I have had a hearing loss. Also severe tinnitus. In the 60’s I was in a locally popular rock and roll band. In the 70’s I was a police officer and we were not allowed to use ear protection at the range. We practiced every week firing at least 500 rounds. Wearing hearing protection was thought to be counter productive… “You’re not going to have time to put ear plugs in when a bad guy is shooting at you. Suck it up buttercup!”

So about a month ago I met a nice man, Scott and his wife, Tamara. We were at a gold prospecting outing. Scott mentioned that his wife was a former law enforcement officer like myself. Well you can’t have two former cops around a camp fire without a bunch of lies, I mean war stories being told. After exchanging stories I mentioned, “Well we both managed to have careers in law enforcement and came out relatively unscathed.” She responded, “Yep except for this tinnitus I’m plagued with.” I said, oh really, you too? She said that she was just about at her wits end when she found out about HA that had a tinnitus masker in them and it has changed her life.

I had never heard of such a thing. Last time I did a Google search on tinnitus about 15 years ago, I read some very familiar words. “Suck it up buttercup.”

After learning about these HA with a tinnitus masker, I told my wife. She said you go get a hearing test right now, because I am tired of you not being able to hear anything that is said to you. I told her, I can hear people, I just can’t understand what they are saying.