Is REM required for an optimal fitting?

I’m new to this world, doing a trial with my first instruments (Oticon Duals). My audiologist does not have the equipment to do real ear measurements. She is new, fresh out of school, she is very nice and very eager to help me but she seems to be very reliant upon the Oticon software. The way her process has gone, she first programmed in my audiogram, then we checked to see how that sounded, at the first visit we made minor adjustments for my own voice and she sent me on my way. 2 weeks later I had my second visit, we adjusted a few different things, both own voice and other sounds, and then my next visit is this Friday.

I’m closing in on the end of my trial period and I have to decide if I want to stay with her or return the instruments and find an audiologist who uses REM.

Can I get the proper fit for me without going through REM? When I asked her why she didn’t have the equipment, her response was that it was dated technology that the new generation of instruments and their accompanying software rendered unnecessary, and that a great fit was absolutely going to happen without using REM.

Can I get there from here?

Do you need a real-ear measure to have a successful hearing aid fitting? No. Should you have one? Yes.

The real-ear measure provides quantitative information about how the hearing aid is responding in your ear. Everyone’s ear canal has different acoustic properties, especially when plugged up with a hearing aid. This has a direct effect on the output of the hearing aid.

The goal of most hearing aid fittings should be restoring speech audibility without making sound too loud. By ensuring a match to a prescription for your hearing loss you can be assured that the hearing aid is programmed provide audible speech while, hopefully, not being too loud.