iOS 11.x Slows down the bluetooth connectivity to Hearing Aids

I have been using iPhone(s) and Resound Linx 961 for 5 years and their BT direct connectivity to the iPhones was very good, with some hiccups of disconnecting if too far from the phone but reasonable performance.

I just updated my iPhone 6 to iOS 11.1 and now the response time to pass the call or media audio to the HA is unacceptably long to a point of losing a call because I can’t hear the people on the other side for 15 to 30 seconds while the phone streams to my H Aids.

I submitted a claim to Apple’s Disability line tech support and they could not find a problem yet, we did the typical reconnect, repair, delete all settings etc. to no avail.

To solve the issue momentarily I disable call routing to the HA and use the speaker but is annoying and I must be in a private room to talk.

If anyone had this issue and resolved it please let us know.
Thanks
Marcelo

I wouldn’t necessarily blame it on the iOS 11.1.x being the real culprit for the problem you’re experiencing. That’s because the iOS 11.1.x has been pretty good for Oticon OPNs based on my personal experience after I switch from iOS 10.x to iOS 11.1.x. If iOS 11.x is the real culprit to blame then not just Resound but other mfg’s firmwares would have been thrown off as well and EVERYBODY would be complaining about iOS 11.x.

It’s possible that the Resound Linx 961 firmware makes use of something in a non-standard way that used to work well before but whatever is changed in iOS 11.1.x no longer supports the Resound firmware anymore. While maybe other mfg like Oticon adheres to whatever iOS 11.1.x more strictly and therefore their firmware didn’t break like the Resound firmware when switching from iOS 10.x to 11.x.