In the testing phase with Oticon More 2

Hello everybody. I need a little help. I have total deafness in the right ear and moderate deafness in the left ear and I use Oticon OPN 1. Now I am in the testing phase with Oticon More 2 but, although I really like the sound, I feel that I am not hearing everything, it seems that noise reducer removes too much. For example, in the car I hear more the sound of my car and traffic without the device if I have it. In addition, everything is too low and the audiologist programmed the device with the same audiogram with which he programmed the OPN. It turns out that when I increase the More sound (on the phone) to 4 which is the maximum I hear even lower than with OPN at volume -2. My question is, does more reduce volume so much or is it bad programming? My audiologist is a bit of a bummer, if you can help me with what I have to ask, I thank you.

Hello back at you! I have been wearing More3 devices since 2 March 2021, and they have given me life-changing improvement over my old hearing aids, which were poorly programmed.

I can’t comment on the comparison to OPN hearing aids, however: I can tell you that More3 is giving me plenty of output power in both ears.

Could it be that your hearing loss has worsened since the audiogram upon which your audi is basing his/her adjustments?

In my case, my new HAs required 100dB receivers (increased from 85dB) to achieve the prescriptive values my audiologist was shooting for.

As has been discussed in other threads, compression settings can significantly affect the PERCEIVED LOUDNESS of the output the devices are delivering to your ears. Perhaps your new aids are adjusted to excessively favour “comfort” over “detail”?

If we’re lucky,@Volusiano will add his 2 cents worth. He has tremendous technical knowledge, and the communication skills to clearly explain such things.