I'm new, just bought first hearing aid off amazon

Hello,
I am new to the world of hearing aids. I have always had difficulty hearing high frequency sounds. As a child, an audiologist told me nerves in my ears have never fully developed. I had difficulty hearing higher frequency sounds since birth, and they told me I was “borderline” of needing a hearing aid. Being a young child, I of course opted to live with it as I thought it would be odd someone my age would be wearing a hearing aid.

Well, I am 25 now and realized I am missing out on many important high frequency consonants in words. Without them, it sound like people are mumbling. I decided to finally get a hearing aid, and not care about how they look.

I went for a free hearing aid checkup (Miracle ear) and was told what I already know - I have difficulty hearing high frequency sounds. I don’t have the decibel and frequency numbers for you, but I can tell you the chart was at normal level and flat on the lower half of the frequency range, then a sharp drop mid way and flat but difficulty hearing of the higher frequency range. I’m not sure if that makes sense to any of you. The audiologist recommended I need a 12 or so channel hearing aid at around $6,000. My health insurance does not cover hearing aids, and being fresh out of college at 25, I cannot afford this.

I went on amazon and found the MD hearing aid pro which seemed to have good reviews and was much cheaper ($320 for a pair). I bought the open fit plugs at $40 and just tried them out now. They are much more comfortable than the closed fit which always felt like my ears were clogged. So far so good, even though this is only 2 channel and not tuned to “perfection”. However, I have it set on “high frequency amplification”, and the volume is about a two ticks above the lowest level (1), but not yet showing 2. The amount of times I say “excuse me” or “what” has dropped drastically, so I am happy with this.

Here is my questions: