I am seeking advice or opinions on ITE aids

I am 70 years of age and I have been wearing hearing aids for 37 years. I suffer from otosclerosis. The aids I am wearing now are in the ear Starkey W11 110HC. These have served me reasonably well for over six years but I have had many problems with faults on them. I found them to be unreliable and I have spent a significant sum on repairs…

During the last two or three years I lost a lot of weight, which affected the fitting of the moulds and I decided it was time to replace them rather than spend more on getting two new moulds.

My hearing loss is quite severe and my audiologist suggested that I try GN Resound LT9-ITE/UP aids as they were amongst the only ITE aids with the required power. I tried these but they had a resonance issue, which caused a noise/feedback problem. They were returned to be reworked and they came back with no improvement. I am now back to square one and seeking advice on where I should go now.

Can anyone advise on whether ITE aids are still possible for my level of Hearing loss. I have attached my audiogram.

0 Likes

Based on my own personal experiences and your audiogram, I’d say not.
You would be far better off with some BTE hearing aids and custom moulds. Same as myself.

2 Likes

I would say possible but not your best option. My hearing isn’t as bad as yours and I do wear ITE aids. But I know if my hearing gets worse I will have to have a BTE hearing aids and I am not looking forward to that time.

1 Like

Phonak has a super power in CIC style, but you may get better hearing results with a BTE or RIC style. They offer wireless in CIC so if you go with that they have accessories for phone use and a tv transmitter. Getting phone calls and tv transmitted to both hearing aids increases understanding. Other brands offer accessories also.

1 Like