How reliable should streamer connection be?

I have a new set of Rexton Finesse CIC aids and the Mini Blu streamer. This is my first time with a bluetooth streaming device. While I like it, I expected a more robust connection than I am experiencing.

1. The weakest link is from streamer to my aids. I understand that the streamer must be in close proximity to the aids for them to work, but I’ve had it within one foot, held out in front of my face so nothing was blocking, and yet still experienced dropouts or lack of connectivity. I’ve also been laying down listening to music from my phone with the streamer on my chest and experience dropouts in one ear or the other. (The right ear is more frequent.) That is much poorer than I expected.

2. Sometimes when I take or make a phone call, one aid will switch on, but not the other. That seems related to the positioning of the streamer. Apparently the streamer sends a little bit of data to each aid to make them switch modes, and if one of the aids missed the signal, it never happens.

3. Connection from my TV streamer seems great. I can go to the kitchen (the next room) and still be listening to the TV with only minimal dropouts. I can even go to the second floor of the house and still hear it.

4. That being said- one evening it seemed I was having real difficulty obtaining constant streaming to both ears from my TV, with me right in the room with it. It seemed like a big drop in performance. Then it dawned on me- we were experiencing a severe thunderstorm at the time of my trouble. After the storm was over, performance seemed to get back to normal.

I realize that there is a trade-off between streamer performance and HA battery life but as this is my first experience I don’t know how my experience compares to other users / other brands.

Your comments will be appreciated.

Very reliable! If I could lower the threshold at which the HA’s quit listening to the streamer, I would lower it all the way to the bottom!!