How many consider studying ASL?

I have moderate to severe loss in my left and severe to profound in my right. I studied American Sign Language in college (years and years ago) but never had much use for it as no one in my family has hearing loss at my level and I knew of no one to use it with. As I love languages in general like Italian and Chinese, I’ve never had a strong desire for ASL. At 44, I’m now reconsidering the idea as my hearing has slipped in my right ear. Still on the fence about it though as classes near me are hard to find and I’m not sure how easily it would be to learn. Has anyone here debated about studying ASL or do you plan to stick with assisted hearing devices?

Laura

0 Likes

I learned enough sign language at one time to roughly communicate some words and spell words I could not sign, in order to communicate with Deaf students at a camp, so I’m not an expert but have had some exposure.

Do you plan to become culturally Deaf, or to work with the Deaf? If not I would not do it.

0 Likes

Culturally deaf - no. I’m just as learning disabled as I am deaf - probably more so - I don’t consider myself culturally learning disabled. I’m Sicilian-American. I don’t define myself by my disabilities. Without my hearing aids I’m at a loss to communicate and I’ve always wondered about whether knowing ASL might make things easier if my hearing continues to worsen. I’m curious how many people, if anyone, has tried learning Sign Language as well.

0 Likes

Culturally Deaf do not consider hearing “loss” a disability. Outside of Deaf culture, I don’t know where ASL would benefit you.

0 Likes

I don’t see where learning ASL would be a negative… at the hospital I worked at they were always having classes and encouraging anyone to sign up.

0 Likes