How long do your aids last before needing replacement?

The thread showcasing folk’s collections of old aids brings up a question I’ve wondered about as a new user.

How long do your hearing aids typically last?..not replacing so much just to get the latest technology or whatever… I’m wondering how long on average I might expect these things to last before I need to replace.
and
how long till I’ll need to get them serviced (new wires and receivers, OR sending away for some sort of major repair)

Some of those collections are quite large… Mostly what I saw was dollar signs $$$ !

My Phonak Naida S IXs I got in 2011 are still going. I send them off for a clean and check service every 6 months.

1 Like

My oticon nera 2 cic has been working from 2011, the oticon sensei pro of my son had worked about 1,8 years before was seriously damaged (amplifier was oxidized) beyond economical repair.

I’m new at this, but am hoping aids typically last 5 years or so. So far I have had one receiver replaced after about 7 months.

Same is the case here . I bought Naida IX S On 2nd October 2014 and they are still functioning quite well . Not sent for a single repair so far.

1 Like

I’m on my 4th pair, have replaced every 3 to 5 years for newer tech. But my original pair, Phonak half shells, work well and sometimes I believe that I hear better with them. My word recognition tests don’t confirm that but ----------

When I got my first hearing aids (Rexton Trax 42s from Costco), I thought I’d use them for at least 5 years. They are 4 years old now and work fine. However, the descriptions of the KS9s from Costco made me want to try them. So I am now about 2 weeks into a trial of new hearing aids after only 4 years.