How long before you get used to them?

Hi folks. I’m a newbie - on this forum as well as with hearing aids. I got a pair of what’s supposed to be top-of-the-line tiny Widex hearing aids, and they’re being adjusted once a week till I’m happy with the sound, and all that’s well and good…

BUT I’VE GOT SOMETHING IN MY EAR ALL THE TIME! And that just sucks.

How long will it take for me to get used to them, do you think?

Thanks!

–Ed

edsikov,
I can assure you that you will get to the point of not noticing them.
I’ve had mine for 15 years and don’t feel them anymore.
It is impossible to predict another persons response to this change.
As long as the hardware is not actually causing irritation to your ear, the transition should be very quick. If you are removing them during the day, I would try to not do that. Just make your ear suck it up and stop complaining. :slight_smile:

I'm getting new aids at the end of October, so I'll have a new arrangement (behind the ear with receiver in the ear) to get used to.

Good luck with this new reality,
TerryB

I bought one CIC style (Completely-in-Canal) in April of 2009 and I can’t feel it in there at all. I bought a CIC style for the other ear recently and was getting used to it and we had to have the case remade and just got it back last week so I’m starting over with the process of getting used to it, but it’s not bad at this point, although, yeah, there is something in my ear. You really do get used to it fairly quickly. It becomes the new “normal” and it will feel funny to take it out at night. I can’t wait to get them back in when I get up in the morning.

The sound part can be a completely different process of getting used to it. Last year when I got my first one I was shocked at how things sounded (clanking dishes was the worst) but now everything sounds crystal clear and I didn’t go back for even one adjustment (I didn’t know you were supposed to). I’m going through the adjustment process now on the new one.