How does one find objective data for hearing aids

Hi All,

By training I am an engineer - so I am quite data driven when I make technology choices. I also am not good at letting others make choices like this for me.

I am new to the hearing aid world and now need them - classic issues of loud music and advancing age etc, and my wife is tired of ‘hun?’, and so am I for that matter!

I have been doing a lot of web surfing, and I tend to be OK at it, but I find mostly ads, and very very little real information / data

Can someone give me guidance as to where to start?

Thanks

Ray

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. Your post is very familiar sounding. Many engineers have been here before you asking for the same thing. Many on the forum love to study technical specs for other purchases, but it’s not feasible for hearing aids. Advice: Look at hearing aids from the “big six” manufacturers: Oticon, Phonak, Resound, Starkey, Widex and Signia. All will likely serve you well, but it’s reasonable to pick a priority feature to base your decision on. Poke around the forum and ask questions. Sorry to disappoint.

2 Likes

Thanks,

Today I went to a place that kinda pushed Oticon. The person did listen to me, so perhaps there was some foundation there.

That said, information like worst case / average power usage, etc are questions that she was unable to answer.

Ray

Welcome to the forum and to be honest this forum has been my saving grace. I am a retired MSCE and before going software was an electronic technician and self trained engineer. All of the data I found before this forum was nothing but marketing from the hearing aid companies. I have been wearing aids for 15 years and have found most Audis only know what marketing gives them. Your other best source is researching and reading ever white paper you can find. I have been wearing Oticon aids for 10 years now and I stick with Oticon because I love the sound.

1 Like