Hi- new here. Got my 1st IIC aids almost 4 weeks ago and hate them. Trying Oticon RIC's next week. Looking for people who tried both

Hi all. I’m new to HA’s and as a 49 yr old woman I wanted to try IIC’s first, despite my audiologist advising me that RIC’s would be better for me, I have a bilateral mild-mod loss that’s been getting more obvious over the past few years and I finally decided to take action. Both my parents (in their 70’s now) have been wearing HA’s for years and they complain about them all the time and gave me no helpful advice.
I’ve been wearing the Starkey Soundlens IIC’s with Bluetooth for almost 4 weeks and I’m not having a great experience with them. I’m still getting used to the feeling of something in my ears all the time- sometimes I feel like they’re more like earplugs than hearing aids. They’re also TERRIBLE anywhere with a lot of background noise. I went back to the aud 2 of 3 times to fine tune them and try to fix the settings for restaurant mode (I have a Starkey remote to carry separately that was supposed to help in louder settings), but all they do is amplify the background noise so that I can’t hear the people with me at all. I end up taking out the hearing aids in noisy environments, which is obviously not helping me. My audiologist is allowing me to try out the Oticon RIC hearing aids for a few weeks to compare and see if I feel better with those. He was actually wearing them and showing me his own. I’m wondering if anyone here has worn both types and can tell me what to expect? I’m still not thrilled about having something behind my ear, but I think I need to get what’s going to work best for me. It’s just accepting the hearing loss at a relatively young age that’s been hard for me. Please don’t flame- I’m trying here. Thanks for any advice or comparisons!