Hi! Anyone help a "Newbie" with questions re hearing aids? Thanks!

This is such a wonderful forum! Hi everyone - so sorry this is long, but I’m new and confused!

I had my first audiology exam done at my ENT’s office in May 2013, and followed up with a second audiologist/ENT office in December as I was fighting the idea of hearing aids at 56. Both exams came out exactly the same. I didn’t know about Costco, so unfortunately I went to the second ENT and came out a little bruised and feeling as if I had been to a used car lot - LOL!

She talked me into $4,000 for the pair resound versa hearing aids, along with an additional $300.00 for the resound+ phone clip. However, whenever I had any questions, she was condescending and acted as if I was bothering her and like my questions were silly. I’m a paralegal during the day, and an organist and pianist part time, with (I believe) most of my hearing loss in the high frequencies.

Needless to say, the hearing aids were a bit of a shock (everything very loud). I fractured the base of my skull at two and have had hyper-acusis and tinnitus all my life, but this is the first time that I’ve been having trouble with hearing loss (specifically word recognition) and constantly sounding like an old woman going “ey . . . ey?” I’m not ready to go gently into this “good night!” Ha ha!