Help in choosing hearing aids from Costco

I posted earlier that I had purchased ks9 HAs from Costco but returned them because the fitter could not eliminate horrible occlusion. I now have an appointment to be fitted with a different brand.
Because I had Costco aids before that were made by resound, the fitter is recommending bte resound vidas because she says I am used to resound.
This doesn’t seem to me to be an adequate reason and I would appreciate any advice as to which of the HAs that Costco sells might be best for me.
You can see from my test results that I have profound loss in the higher frequencies.
Thank you
Floyd Lee

Some thoughts:

1. In my opinion the Marvels did not have enough gain for your loss.
  2. I think a BTE is a much better choice.
  3. I think either the Resounds or Phonak Brio 3 could be a decent choice. My bias would be the Phonaks because of their more sophisticated frequency lowering.
  4. Not sure what the issue with occlusion was. I’m not a pro, but pretty confident you’d benefit from a custom mold.
  5. Have you ever been evaluated for a cochlear implant? If I had your loss, I’d want more info on cochlear implants.
1 Like

I did have custom molds. I think the vent was too small. The fitter said she checked the effect a larger vent would have by changing size on her computer. I don’t really think this was a valid way to check and in retrospect should have insisted on her actually drilling out the vents to a larger size.

Occlusion and own voice I believe are very similar, very tunable. It surprises me the aids couldn’t be adjusted correctly concerning occlusion.

Your hearing loss is pretty bad, almost out of Costco’s area of expertise I am guessing. It takes a fitter with more experience to fit your type of loss. Mentioning this might get you a better fitter. The statement about Resound aids from the fitter sounds off to me also.

BTE aids might be better for your loss too.

Good luck