Hearing While Playing and Listening to Music

Hi Folks,

“A couple of recent posts encouraged me to revisit an old post of mine. Here it is:
Hi folks,
I’ve been a professional musician for about 40 years fronting bands as a singer and playing guitar. I’ve been wearing hearing aids for the last 5 years. Currently I have Phonak Audeo V90s and use large power domes with them. When I first started using aids I was able to take them out while playing but as my hearing has gotten worse I’ve needed to have them in.
I have a host of issues I’m dealing with. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t trust myself hearing pitch correctly. Quite often with my hearing aids in I’ve not been able to discern pitch and either have to keep playing through the changes until I feel comfortable or wing it (with not so good outcomes). Another issue is hearing myself too much and not being able to hear the music being played or other singers for blending harmonies.
I’ve started to use in ears for solo gigs with good success but don’t always have the ability to use them in all situations.
So long story not so short, I’ve contemplated giving up playing live but want to try to address all avenues of help. So, any advice/strategies any of you would like to share would be greatly appreciated.”
Since writing this a year and a half ago, my hearing loss has not changed much. It remains relatively flat hearing loss in the moderate to severe range.
What has changed since this post is that listening to music has gotten less enjoyable. For example when listening to a singer with just an acoustic guitar it often sounds as if the guitar and voice are in different keys.

Thanks in advance for any ideas you may have to help.
Phil

Hey @phild,