Hearing Loss and Federal Employment

I am a college graduate from a very good private school. I have a mixed hearing loss in each year and will be getting hearing aids soon, hopefully. I am going through my state’s VocRehab. However, I want to enter service with the federal government as a criminal investigator. I will not be happy working a typical job. I want to be on the front lines. Does anyone know of federal agents with hearing aids, or hearing loss? There has to be a way. In my thinking allowing glasses and corrective eye surgery but not hearing aids is a double standard.

Yes, I work with many federal employees and TSA employees, as well as Federal Marshalls, etc.

In all cases I have experienced, they do allow for a hearing loss, provided the hearing loss is corrected to a certain degree. The most stringent I have seen are the TSA requirements for security screeners at the airport. Yet, even with that, you can pass with a properly fit hearing aid set, provided you do not have a profound hearing loss and you purchase appropriate hearing aids.

PM me if you would like a copy of a recent TSA case we did.

Hope this helps you out.

Please post when you get your hearing aids and let us know how you are doing!

I am currently in the hiring process for TSA as a screener. My pre-employment medical exam showed I have a serious “high frequency” hearing loss. Immediately following this exam I scheduled an exam with an ENT / audiologist so I could better understand what this meant. My doctor confirmed the “high frequency” hearing loss and said it could be remedied with hearing aids. The “ticket shock” hasn’t worn off yet.

Here is my question - TSA has sent me paperwork for “Further Hearing Evaluation” and the paperwork contains the following requirement: