Hearing aids for musician

I am a bassist with a severe loss- -40 at the low end and -105 at the top. I have a pair of America Hears VTEC aids, BTE medium power but am having a distortion problem at the low end around 200hz, even though the aids are far from being maxed out and compression & expansion are almost nil. I am not sure if it is the processor, AD convertor or the transducers, but, at this point I need to solve this fast- this is affecting my perforance and work. I suspect it is the transducers, but I have no way of isolating it. i spent a long time twiddling with the software- raising the over all gain, dropping the gain, raising & lowering the EQ faders, and the VC on the aid, but the distortion will not go away. I plan to talk to America Hears about this, but I am wondering if I need a new pair of aids altogether.

So I am here asking for advice on aids that are able to handle moderately loud sound levels with fidelity, and ones that I can program. (I play (real, not that fake smooth stuff) jazz with combos & big bands). I have heard about a new processor an ezairo5900 that is supposed to be the next big thing (ahem) but I can’t find out who is using it. I tried a K-amp, it sounded great, but didn’t have enough power. The style of aid is not a factor for me, as long as it sounds good with live & recorded music.

I know how to program, having done it with two types of aids and I know computer based audio production, so the software is no problem to me. My experiences with having someone else program the aids has been less than satisfactory, so I am set on being able to do so, and being able to get the interface & software with the aids. This and fidelity are paramount.

Ideas, suggestions?

It seems you need to use a hearing aid analizer and check the harmonic distortion… Again, i believe you should seek an Audi that is able to perform
adjustments for you… This is why most audis go to school many many years…