Hearing aid repair vs new pair

Hi all, I’ve been wearing a pair of Beltone TRU963DW hearing aids since 2011. I’ve been with Beltone my entire life mainly because when my hearing loss was diagnosed at 5 we went a friend of the family audiologist who was with Beltone. My point being: the TRU936s worked well but I’ve only ever been with Beltone so I have no reference point for comparison.

The left aid has finally ceased working properly after limping along for a bit. For a while I would be able to move it around and sound would come back but that is no longer the case. I visited an audiologist for an exam and she tried to resurrect it with no luck.

We discussed options for a new pair which included the Resound LINX3D 561 which was quoted at $4300 for the pair. Due to finances that is pretty much out of the question. She also quoted the Enya 362 as an option at 2400.

I also did a lot of research regarding the Costco options and the Forte 8 at 2800$ seems like it would be a better option than the Enya 362 for 400$ more. Finally, I could also get the left one repaired by Beltone for something like 400$.

My main question is this: how much of an improvement over the Beltone pair are the Enya 362 and Forte 8? I included an image of my hearing test results:

1 Like

I vote for trying the Forte 8. I suspect your current aids are near end of life and will continue to need repair. I am not all familiar with the Enya 362, but am convinced the Forte 8 is considerably nicer as it is a premium aid. Assuming you live in the US, you can try out the Forte 8 at no risk for 6 months as you can get a full refund if you don’t like it. You also get all service free from Costco and a full 3 year warranty that can be increased by a year if you use a Costco credit card to purchase.