Hearing Aid - not Siemens - Rugged enough for work

Hi,

I’ve been wearing a hearing aid for the past 10 years. I started out with a small one completely in the ear and now have a BTE. It’s a Siemens Triano. All of my hearing aids have been Siemens at this point.

I’d really like to get one that I can program myself or make adjustments. I’ve read that there are some you can purchase that have software that comes with them. I’m not sure if this is required, but every time I go for an adjustment (after the initial few adjustments) it’s $50.

I’ve had extremely disappointing results with Siemens and will not purchase another product from them. In fact, I haven’t worn my current hearing aid for several months and do miss having one. The battery door broke, the top portion of the aid itself where the clear plastic tube connects is broken and loose. Each hearing aid I’ve had has experienced its own problems and eventually broke. This one is far out of warranty and even the sound quality is really bad. As far as warranty service goes, it hasn’t been stellar, believe me. And these units are expensive (I have no plan for coverage). I think the one that was completely in the ear had much better sound. The BTE gives volume, but poor quality sound.

I’m a firefighter and I admit that it sometimes gets rough treatment when I put my gear on and has once or twice got knocked out of my ear. But, it should be a bit more rugged than it is.