Have alot of trouble hearing at work

I’m a 29 year old male and currently have a mild to severe loss in both ears. I used to have resound cics but my loss worsened and now have micro tech radius 12 ITE. I do hear alot better in most all situations but with the increased amplification I have alot of trouble hearing at work. I work in a factory that makes fluid lines for autmotive industry so we pressure test them with air. Throughout the factory we have 50+ machines and can hear this loud sporatic hisses all day that sounds like its going off in my ear and drowns out voices. We also have the radio playing over the pa. If I set my aids to restraunt it takes away to much and I cant hear people speaking. If I set it to traffic I dont see much any difference from regular mode. I am a supervisor so I have to speak with associates often on the floor and I’m getting very frustrated and somewhat depressed with this. Can anything be done to my hearing aids? Any ideas? Thanks

There are aids on the market that have as many as 32 channels of noise suppression…If the hiss noise in the factory is concentrated in only a couple of these noise channels, you might be able to converse with your fellow associates.

All modern aids have some kind of loudness limiter. Ask your professional to reduce the Maximum Output Limiter for the frequency of the hiss on your present aids. Will help some. Ed

I struggled for years working in a factory. My current aids allow me change programs for “noise” and are set to amplify at 2, 3, & 4K about -10dB (from the “quiet” program) and also switch to directional mic. The lower frequencies caused me the most problems on the factory floor so they are set at about -20dB (from the “quiet” program).

My “quiet” settings are omni-directional mic and bring the “lows” back up and boost the highs back from the -10dB noted above.