HA selection recommendations

I’m a newbie who’s retired military and am taking advantage of a veteran’s program where I can get the HA at cost based upon my needs and availability. I’m meeting my Audi next week for the selection. The brands are Siemens, Starkey, Audicon, Unitron, and Phonak.

I travel a lot and spend about 2500 minutes a month on my iPhone. While on planes I listen to books/music or videos on my iPhone/iPad. I’ve been reading posts, but having a hard time determining which offer the best options with high cell phone demands.

I’m very interested in reading everyone’s thoughts so I can narrow my choices down before making my selection.

Thanks in advance,
JR

*250 500 1000 2000 3000 4000 6000 8000
L 40–25—25----45—60----70----80—50
R 30–25—20----35—55----70----60—50

Well usual disclaimer, I’m a huge Starkey fan. Of the brands listed the rest are foreign imports, Starkey is American, and in many areas of hearing aid technology lead the world. Including feedback cancellation, which will allow the aids to deliver better sound to your ears in those higher frequencies with less chance of distortion or whistling.

That feedback cancellation system is going to come in very handy if for example you wear CIC hearing aids, and you then put on a set of headphones like Bose Noise Cancelling on the plane. The weaker the feedback cancellation system, the more likely the aids are to whistle if you put other devices near them or cover them.

I’ve fitted Starkey CIC aids to your type of loss many times before. Nice and discrete, the same brand worn by all the United States Presidents who have ever worn hearing aids (Clinton, Carter, Bush Sr, and Reagan); and let’s face it it’s not like they couldn’t order any brand they wanted to.