Going insane over this--please help!

I’ve been wearing CIC’s happily for ten years. Long story short…five months ago I lost my right CIC and went to my audi to get some spanking new ones. Due to a bunch of fit and “it doesn’t sound right” problems, I’m still having difficulties. Here’s the strange thing…and what’s making me crazy! I have a loaner pair in (Phonaks) and the aids feel like they’re rubbing in my canals, causing a crunching sound in both ears when I smile. This noise is NOT coming from the aids’ circuitry, because even my old aid is doing this! It doesn’t happen without my aids in, or when I hold my head perfectly still. All the exams of my ears are perfectly normal…no itching, wax, etc. For the LIFE of me I cannot figure out what is causing this rubbing and catching and crunching. I’m thinking perhaps I’m dehydrated? But my audi says my ear canals don’t appear to be dry or flaky! Also, I’ve always preferred the red-and-blue colored CIC’s for ease of use, and wondering if the matte finish is somehow causing this? ANYONE’s input would be appreciated! I’m a 41 year old female and the thought of BTE’s is just so depressing to me, because I have long hair and a very active lifestyle. I’m so upset over this…thanks in advance.

It could be just that they don’t “fit” in your ear right. I wear BTE’s with custom molds and have had to have molds remade because of this. They should make a tight seal, and if they’re don’t they can move around which could be causing the rubbing and the “noise” you hear. Do they also make “noise” when you chew?

The noise only happens when I move my face a lot, as in smiling.

" . . .the thought of BTE’s is just so depressing to me, because I have long hair and a very active lifestyle."