Getting harder to hear conversations

I’m only 12 months from my last test and new aids. The last month or so, I’m feeling like I’m really struggling to hear one on one conversations. Not only in busy places but also feel like I’m mixing up words in general conversations.

I have had my aids checked and cleaned……is it possible my hearing is dropping off quickly? Really frustrating. It’s not that I can’t hear noise - the opposite. The crazy part is I don’t feel “deaf” at all. I can even hear in the morning without the aids but not sure what’s been fully said if away from me or in another room.

Anyone had anything similar? Suggestions?

I find it important to get at least annual hearing test and check ups. When getting aids the first time, and new to your hearing loss semi-annual hearing test should be done until the audiologist and you understand the progression or stability of your hearing loss. I have been wearing aids for about 17 years and try to at least get annual test now that I know how my hearing loss is progressing.

3 Likes

Yes annual test and with any luck your aids just need adjusting

2 Likes

Knowing your word understanding would help you understand what’s going on with your hearing.
The audiogram doesn’t always tell you what going on.

1 Like
  • Left - 68% @ 75 dB hL
  • Right - 84% @ 75 dB hL

That was my last test. Not sure if good or bad? If speech drops off does the audio gram also drop off? I feel like I have good volume just clarity is the issue.

2 Likes

Thanks for the information.
Do you happen to know what it was earlier?
Looking for a trend.

2 Likes

Something else, are these old aids that have not been tuned in a while?
It’s very important to keep the aids properly tuned for your hearing loss.
This keeps your brain sharp for speech understanding.

2 Likes

L 96 at 80
R 88 at 80. That was 2 years previous.

1 Like

That left ear has changed a bunch. Has something changed?

Sorry I missed your first post about new aids a year ago.