Getting first HA's Wednesday

Hi all, I have a higher frequency loss (above 3kz) and a lot of trouble hearing in noisy areas. The audiologist suggested trying Exelias. WOW, each cost more than my first car, and I’m not that old. But, if that’s what is needed… Besides, I’m really getting tired of not being able to hear. Very frustrating.

So… My fitting is Wednesday and I’m unsure of what to expect at first. Does it take a whole bunch of trips to the audiologist to get them right? For those of you who got their first pair, did you notice a marked improvement right away? I have to ask people to repeat themselves. I really hope that gets better. Anything I should make sure of getting right the first time? Anything you wish you would have done or asked?

Again, I’m new at this. So,thanks for any help you can offer. :confused:

To find hearing aid that cost less than your car, try Costco (real audiologist), www.AmericaHears.com, or www.hearsource.com.

Cowbell I hope it goes well Wednesday. I ordered my set from American Hears at close on Friday and they should be at my office on Tue or Wed so I am excited as well and have been learning the software so I can tweak the aids using my PC in my office or at home.

I would visit another audi. If your doctor wanted to remove your liver you would probably want a second opinion. Removing your wallet through your liver calls for one as well.

On second thought this was not helpful. I apologize.

I noticed a remarkable difference the first time I wore HAs. I asked the audi what to expect and she said I could expect to hear birds and the cat or dog walking across the floor. I came home after the fit and took my dogs outside and though I could hear birds before I received the HAs with them I heard many more birds, not numbers but species, I heard the dogs walking across the leaves and sitting at the breakfast room table I heard water boil in the kitchen.