Full-spectrum hearing aids?

Hi Folks

I’m a musician with reverse-slope hearing loss: moderate-to-severe in the lows, mild in the highs. As a person who spends his life working in sound, I’m extremely fussy about sound quality. I got a CIC for my right ear, and while it’s an improvement in the mids, like most hearing aids its maximum HF range is about 6KHz… fine for speech, useless for music/sound where there’s important information coming in at 8, 10 or even 12KHz. Does anyone make a full-spectrum hearing aid? Does anyone make one that goes down below 250 Hz as well? Any hard-of-hearing audiophiles out there who can help me?

I think you may find it hard to get what you are looking for. Almost all hearing aids out there are geared towards speech. That’s what the research dollars are spent on. But if you find something be sure to post on here, I’d certainly be interested to hear about it from an audiophile point of view.

true, i would say speech in noise is #1 complain…

The other factor apart from geared to speech (which is not so true today with 10khz bandwidth aids) is that there are no real norms (apart from individual baselines) for normal hearing above 10Khz (as far as I’m aware). Most people start losing their hearing in these high frequencies from about the age of 21 and some people have essentially no hearing in those very high frequencies. The other issue may relate to the high frequency wave lenghts and ear canal resonance as well as the size of the receiver limiting the frequency output (again not entirely sure). Would love to hear if anyone else knows more.

again, right. the extendent bandwith- relates to an improve sense of orientation. its been said that it also provides a natural sound, One thing I had ask to a HI manf is that as far as gain what gain do you input if for example Noah does not allow to input hearing loss more than 8,000 hz? I never really got an straight answer… any thoughts?