Experiment: I'm turning the Bluetooth off

Hi, all. I want to share an experiment I will be doing on myself. It is not the most rigorous study since there are many variables I am not controlling for, which is why I am also sharing it with you, so that maybe I can find other people with the same experience and perhaps make my hypothesis more plausible.

During the last few months, I have felt mentally off. I am not sure what it is but I am wondering if the fact that the bluetooth on my hearing aids making it much easier for me to switch contexts many times a day has actually had a dizzying effect on my mental health.

I am a student so I have to watch after my own productivity. This means that I can switch off work whenever I like. I can always get very quickly immersed into any audiovisual content that calls my attention from any device. Granted, I certainly lack discipline, but the fact is that the convenience these devices offer end up making the allure harder to resist.

As a consequence, I think I am watching and listening to much more content than I used to. Between podcasts, youtube videos and voice notes from friends, the supply of entertainment is endless. So that could be one of the causes: constant context switching and distraction. Another possibility is that, even if the quantity has remained constant compared to before to having bluetooth on my hearing aids, the sound is so much better so that it is also better at keeping me enthralled, or it could just simply be that the volume is too loud.