Ergonomic Evaluation after request for accommodations (teacher)

I have been following up on the situation from my previous post. I’m a teacher who wears hearing aids, and I recently had to return to in-person instruction after teaching online for a year.

After my previous post, I made a formal request through the school district for accommodations, as per my union’s advice. Then, I got a new hearing exam, in which I discovered that my hearing loss had become much worse, particularly in my right ear. (My new audiogram is posted on this site). My audiologist was very concerned and followed up with the ENT. I am going to be having an MRI and a vestibular test to see if the loss is connected to my balance problem.

My doctor filled out the required form and sent it in. Then, after another week or so, I received today an email from the school district’s insurance people, requesting an hour-long ergonomic evaluation, and photos of me at my job.

I want to know what to expect. I’m also floored as to what a photo of me standing in my classroom could possibly show them. Frankly, it sounds like they are following the standard procedures they’d use for someone in a standard work environment, not for a teacher in a classroom.

Has anyone ever had an ergonomic evaluation related to hearing loss? Please fill me in on what to expect.

Thanks so much!

I don’t know, but this sounds like a bureaucratic knee jerk reaction to me. (Somebody requests accomodations–do an ergonomic evaluation) Sounds like they’re used to getting accomodation requests from people with repetitive stress injury.

3 Likes

Thanks! It seems that way to me, too!

@birdcountry99: You’ve probably already got this base covered, but I’d make sure that your union is involved every step of the way from here on in.

I tend to agree with MDB on this.