Effect of frequency compression on speech understanding

I have been using my KS8S for several months now, and am very happy with them. In another post I mentioned that the music program worked better for my understanding of speech than the Automatic program. One response was that this could be due to the fact that the Automatic program is often set up to compress or lower high frequencies and that could in fact degenerate your understanding of speech. I would like to hear other opinions on this, especially from audiologists or other hearing professionals.

0 Likes

Again, I was talking about level compression, not frequency compression. Although frequency compression is also something that can improve audibility of consonants while simultaneously introducing distortion, I was guessing that your music program was providing more linear gain.

0 Likes

Can you explain a little more about level compression vs. frequency compression? As a former radio announcer (circa 1961), I recall a piece of equipment we installed which suppressed sudden amplitude changes. Does this work something like that? I have noticed (it seems on all programs) that a sudden change (such as clearing my throat) seems to reduce the amplitude momentarily. In looking at the KS8 settings with Connexx Eight and Noahlink Wireless, I haven’t seen a setting for level compression.

0 Likes

Frequency compression is called Bandwidth Compression on the KS8. Your loss is not sloping so you may not benefit from it. It moves sounds to lower frequencies.

Mine slopes and I have dead regions so my first experience with it was like opening a new door of sounds.

0 Likes