Easy OFF/ON button would be HUGE advantage

I need HA very rarely. May be 1% of time. I do not want to hear all noises and unneeded, useless sounds around. It does annoy me a lot.
Any one knows HA with the easy way to turn it of and on ON DEMAND- ie with the easy accessible button?

If you do not use your hearing aids all the time you will never get use to them. I have been wearing hearing aids for 15 years, I learned from the beginning to wear them all of the time. From the time I get up until I go to bed. If you do so and you work with your Audi you will get to the point you can not live without them. With my aids I feel like I have normal hearing again. You have to wear the aids so your brain relearns how to deal with the sounds of the environment you live in and go to.

13 Likes

Basically agree with cvkemp, but to answer your question, most hearing aids can be programmed to mute with a long press on a button on the hearing aid.

6 Likes

If you truly only need hearing aids 1% of the time (~15m per day), then keep them in a case in your pocket.

1 Like

Most phone apps can mute the hearing aids. They’re not exactly off but are functionally off. Now you’ve got something blocking your ear so you’ll hear fewer sounds than without any hearing aids. How much less depends on the type of aid and what is inserted into your ear.

My previous hearing aids did not seem to help during most of my day so I didn’t wear them. They did help me to understand people talking on TV so I would wear them in the evening when I watched. Or if I went to a movie. They were worth it for that and for me that was enough to become accustomed to wearing them.

I’m happier now that i have better hearing aids I can leave in all the time and, when needed, alter volume and programming a bit.

Although I agree very much with one point: I wish it was easier to turn off hearing aids. One reason I have rechargeables is my opinion that opening a battery door to turn off hearing aids is absurd!