Dot vs amplifon

My head is spinning ! I really need some help here

I downloaded the PDF documents on the Amplifon Moxi and ReSound Dot 20
and am trying to compare the specs. Tough to compare specs when you dont know what they mean or the $$ value of them .

One audi is trying to put me in a Amplifon Element 8 Moxi and another suggests the Dot 20 or 30.

I do not understand all of the features and could use help in deciding.

Moxi : 8 channels, 8 bands, Adaptive Directionality $4300.00 pair

Dot 20 : (channels unknown) , 17 bands multiscope adaptive directionality (advanced) , $3200.00 pair

The spec sheets are quite detailed and in the proper hands could tell exactly which aid is the better choice.

If someone knows how to read the specs online and has time to explain it to me I would really appreciate it.

Thanks !

I’ve been there, done that, and it can be very confusing. I’ve been wearing aids for 6 years, and have been wearing the dot 30 for the last 5 days. I know nothing about the Element 8, except to say that from battery size alone (312 battery) it’ll be a larger aid than the dot (10 battery).

I wore the Pulse before this, and I’d say the dot 20 is a step up from the Pulse in specs and features, and it’s tiny. With the 312 battery I was getting 10-11 days with the Pulse. With the 10 battery, it’s a shade over 6 days. Both are comfortable behind my ear, but the dot is really comfortable by comparison.

The dot 30 is a step up in technology from the dot 20, with its “natural directionality.” Basically, at least as I understand it, the aid in one ear is set for omni-directional mics, and the other ear is set with a directional, forward facing mic. But in down and dirty layman’s terms, I can hear sounds behind me much better with the dot 30 than with any other aids I’ve experienced.

So I’m biased and partial to Resound. :stuck_out_tongue: And I’d get the dot 30, all things being equal.