Do hearing aids help mild hearing loss? My audiologist claims that they do not

Hello!

I am new here! I recently had my first hearing test. I have a family history of progressive hearing loss that begins in the late teens and early 20s and I started to notice that I couldn’t understand some of my professors (I am a university student studying archaeology and french) and without the subtitles on the television my roommates complained it was too loud. I can understand most people one on one in quiet setting no problem. It’s really only background noise, lecture theatres, people who mumble and television that I have problems with.
My test came back with mild hearing loss that my audiologist assured me was from sound exposure, not genetics (not sure about that, I’ve never been to a concert or shot a gun in my life, and I keep the volume down on my iPod because I like to hear the world around me). She said that hearing aids really don’t help hearing loss as mild as mine, and that there wasn’t anything she could do for me but advise me to sit in the front of my class. She refused to even let me try them as “the benefits simply won’t outweigh the costs”.

Does anyone have any experience with hearing aids for mild losses or other strategies to compensate?

I’m feeling rather frustrated and confused. Thanks very much for your opinions and advice.

Yes, hearing aids can help people with mild hearing loss. Find another audiologist who will let you try a pair. With your particular loss, the hearing aids will be programmed to give you amplification in the high frequencies, which will make speech sounds clearer and easier to understand.

1 Like

I agree. See my numbers below. Life is so much better with these. Just took a class recently and it was a lot less fatiguing to not be straining to hear what was going on and misunderstanding what I could hear. It’s those important vowels that make a big difference. When the waiter asks if you want the “fish” and all you hear is “ih”