Demoing Phonak Audeo S (SMART) V thread

Hi,

I thought I would use this thread to provide my experience with demoing the above HA to keep things all in one spot.

I have been wearing HAs for 4 years. My last pair were ReSound Pulse (I think). They were BTE and worked OK, although the right one quit working after 3 1/2 years. I’m seeing the same audiologist that fit me with the ReSounds as is now fitting the Phonaks.

My hearing loss is mostly in the uper frequencies, and I find it very hard to impossible to understand what is being said from tv, even with the old HAs. The Phonaks are better at this although I still have to use my headphones if I want to comprehend all of the conversation on TV. I also suffer from tinnitus.

I have had the new HAs for almost a week and am using the manual programm mode as opposed to the manula volume control. I have three programs in addition to the Auto. Prog 1 - mics focused forward; 2 - left mic off, right mic on; and 3 - music.

The same day I received them I had to go back for an ajustment as I was getting an annoying static (low) in all progs except for 2. Now I get that same static in auto, but not in 1 or 3 with the exception of when I am close to a fan (i.e., in can with fan on). Currently I use Prog 1 almost all the time.

I am also demoing the iCom and TVLink. I’ve not tried the TVLink yet, but have been using the iCom paired with my cell phone, which works very well. I have tried connecting the iCom via 3.5 mm cable to computer to stream music, but this was a fail. I didn’t want to be tethered to the iCom while doing this but would lose the signal if I set the iCom down next to me instead of having it around my neck. Even with it around my neck the sound quality was poor, and I went back to just using a cheap pair of headphones. I’m also going to try using the same setup with an MP3 but don’t figure the source will change the outcome all that much when using the audio cable but I’ll try it anyway.