Deciding to Keep Wearing Hearing Aids

Hi everyone! I could use some help about next steps.

Here’s the important info: I have mild hearing loss in low frequencies (reverse slope) with exceptionally good hearing loss at high frequencies. I struggle to hear male voices, some deeper female voices, in noisy situations, on the phone while in the car, and in larger spaces when a/c is running. I work in education, managing adults in school settings. I am in a trial phase for hearing aids right now. I’m still working out features (autophone works only some of the time, for example) and hearing new sounds (thunder rumbling, boiling water, my a/c). I’ve managed to wear the hearing aids for the last six days for nearly all of the day. I have some minor out ear skin irritation. Overall, I’d say the adjustment has not been terrible.

Here’s the question: I’m not sure most people notice my hearing loss. (I only realized it was a thing as masks were being worn and I’ve had some trouble at work with preparing for a phonics-based assessment where I need to discriminate between vowel sounds.) The hearing aids help but I’m not sure the difference outweighs the cost and the upkeep I’ll need to do. I don’t know any other hearing aid users so I’m stuck for where to seek advice. I also haven’t told barely anyone that I was even having this trouble because I didn’t want to make it a big deal with friends and at work. Thoughts on the next steps? Do I keep them? Do I wait for hearing to get worse and then get them then?

TIA!

My leanings would be to keep them or replace with less expensive hearing aids. The thing about hearing loss is if the brain doesn’t get stimulus at certain frequencies, it can lose the ability to make sense of the sounds. (The issue with vowel discrimination will only get worse and harder to remediate. Don’t know how tight money is or how much these aids are. If money is a major issue, Costco has some excellent hearing aids at low cost.

4 Likes