Could I get some advice please, Audiogram uploaded. (musician)

Good evening everyone, I hope you are all staying safe and well in these crazy times x
I have just had a new test done today, also micro suction to clear wax etc.

I am a singer songwriter, and write and record my own music etc, I also try to mix my own music, does anyone have any advice they could offer me to help improve the situation regarding hearing the higher frequencies to help with mixing, for instance hi-hats.

I am not currently wearing hearing aids although I was given a pair by the NHS In 2017.

Thanks for reading, hoping you can help, its really getting me down etc.
Kind Regards
Christian

1 Like

@christiansleep: Welcome to our super Forum!

I’m a musician, too, with a similar ski slope hearing loss to yours.

The answers you seek are not one-liners, nor are they always simple to understand …

The folks on this forum are great helpers, advisors, and supporters, but our losses and objectives for our hearing treatment vary: so may our answers.

My initial suggestion is that hearing aids will not - in my experience - restore rich, loud musical sounds to your auditory perception of music. If you’re looking for that big sound of lots of air moving, I’ve found that a great set of phones or in-ear monitors, EQ’d to your hearing loss at the board is the way to go.

I’m going to suggest that you, instead, think of hearing aids as devices to better permit you to understand the spoken word, as well as to provide your brain with all the clues it needs to make sense of the complex soundscapes that surround you every day of life.

If you tailor your expectations of what HAs can do for you in these non-musical domains, I’m pretty confident that you’ll be able to find both an audiologist and a pair of devices that will significantly improve your quality of life.