Costco Generally and in Greenville, SC

Hi Everyone,

I am new to HT and to HA’s, and I have a few questions as I start my journey into HA use. I believe that my hearing loss is in the mild-to-moderate range in both ears (as tested a couple of years ago). (Ain’t procrastination great???)

First, although I know each Costco (and every other audiology center) is different, does anyone have any general thoughts or suggestions regarding Costco audiology services?

Second, has anyone had any experience with the Costco audiology services in Greenville, SC?

Finally, the Costco website indicates that the following HA brands are available: Rexton; ReSound; Kirkland; Phonak; and Philips. I cannot tell if those are for any given Costco or for the Greenville location, and I cannot determine what specific model(s) are available for each brand at Costco.

Any thoughts or suggestions about which brand or model within brand available at Costco that I should consider?

Thanks.

Gene

Costco have universal high standards that each Costco is obligated to follow. Their testing is very complete and when fitting aids they do Real Ear Measurement, which many private shops do not do. That said you can run into rogue fitters who are not following the standards. It is best to go in and talk to the people at the one you are considering. If there is more than one choice and you don’t get a good feeling about the first one, try another. A couple of years ago Consumer Reports did a survey of about 17,000 readers who had hearing aids, and Costco rated #1 for a retailer. Their Kirkland Signature aids rated #1 for a brand. At the time the survey was done, the Kirkland models were made by Rexton/Signia. The #1 brand was Signia.