Cochlear Implants vs HA Users: Study

I have been using HAs for about seven years. I hear fairly well in a quiet environment, but if several people are talking, I am totally lost. Is anyone aware of any studies done where people have previously had traditional HAs, and then have switched to Cochlear Implants. Is their hearing better? My concern is that Cochlear implants are not reversible. Another Question: Is it ever the situation where Cochlear implants are done in one ear only?

Most insurance co. only pay for one Cochlear implant and you have to jump though a lot of hoops to get the second one. My sisters, sister in law has one Cochlear implant and is now jumping though a lot of hoops trying to get the second implant and so far has been denied more than once and she is basically deaf in the bad ear.

There are criteria you must meet in order to be a CI candidate. You really can get very little benefit from a HA before they will consider a CI. It doesn’t sound the same as a HA and there are plenty of people out there who get implanted and then get zero benefit from the implant and then they are left with a completely dead ear.

You also need to be severe to profound across all frequencies in hearing loss which is 70db to 120db. Your loss seems too good…

Most CI centres want you to be wearing the most powerful hearing aid to show you don’t benefit from HAs.

One guy on all deaf forums wore HAs that went up to 100db and altho his loss fitted the hearing aids, the CI audiologist said he won’t qualify for a CI until he wears a more powerful HA. He now does wear more powerful HAs and now gets more benefit and has left the CI route for the future. All to do with how much room there is for compression I believe.

Maybe best to try other hearing aids.

Hearing aids are ALWAYS preferable to a CI.

If you can derive benefit from a HA, that’s the way to go.