Cause of Vertigo?

I was recently diagnosed with Vertigo. They have no idea what the cause is or they do not want to say. Could my profound hearing loss and tinnitus be the cause of the vertigo? If so is there any medical evidence written that would state that Vertigo could be cause by profound hearing loss.

Could be Meniere’s disease or Autoimmune Inner Ear Disease. You should consult an otolaryngologist.

I have recurrent vertigo due to AIIED and suppress using prednisone.

I’m not a doctor, but that kind of sounds like Menieres. I had a pretty mild version of it. Vertigo, tinnitus, my ear felt like it was on an airplane and plugged up. Also was pretty moody.

You should talk to a doc about it. For me, going easy on caffeine, tobacco, alcohol and especially stress kept it at bay.

VA audiologist gave me a one hour test that was like waterboarding and you have to open eyes inside dark goggles and he said he could not say specifically what was causing the vertigo. No one knows what is causing it. The only thing I have is profound hearing loss and tinnitus. I believe that is the cause but again I am not a doctor just the receiver of Vertigo

This is the therapy prescribed for me a bunch of years ago. They work but it takes due diligence. You can find it at the Mayo Clinic site. Also check youtube under Cawthorne. Good Luck. Here’s my copy.

Cawthorne’s Head Exercises

These exercises are to be carried out for 15 minutes twice a day, increasing to 30 minutes.

Eye Exercises:
    Look up, then down - at first slowly, then quickly - 20 times
    Look from one side to the other - at first slowly, then quickly - 20 times
    Focus on finger at arm's length moving one foot closer and back again - 20 times
Head Exercises:
    Bend head forward then backward with eyes open - slowly, later quickly - 20 times
    Turn head from one side to other side - slowly, then quickly - 20 times
    As dizziness decreases these exercises should be done with eyes closed.
Sitting: