Buying online

first time buyer of hearing aids. I have been looking online. what a price difference from buying locally to online. i am interested in open fit aids. any suggestion online or locally

As a first time user of hearing aids I would highly recommend you go through an audiologist as getting used to hearing aids takes counselling and can require lots of adjustments and assistance.

I agree with the previous poster, you need to go to a hearing professional when you buy hearing aids. Especially the first time, because when they look at your hearing test results, they can recommend the best aids for your hearing.

I’ve been wearing aids for 6 years, and about 3 years ago bought aids from America Hears, which worked out well. My first aids were bought locally, and having experienced both, I must agree, as I’ve posted before, that as a first time wearer I would get them from a local audiologist.

After that, as an experienced wearer, you’ll better know what questions to ask or what to expect when buying online. Very fortunately for me, thank goodness, the cost of the first aids wasn’t an issue, as they were covered by my health insurance.

If cost is an issue, I’d consider getting the aids from Costco, if possible in your area. My grandmother, who agreed to get aids after seeing me wear mine, has Bernafon aids from Costco, and they’re working well for her.

I would agree 100 % to get them from a local audiologist the first time. I picked up my first pair yesterday so, I am by no means an expert, but I have already made a return trip for a fit problem and when I went back the audi said this will fix that and she gave me an anchor for the aids and I was out the door in less than 15 minutes with a fix. I can’t imagine trying to resolve that issue online because I had no idea what to expect as far as fit and sound. I know I paid for more that just the aids; I paid for knowledge, experience and expertise and hands on care.