Best App for Measuring SPL and Frequency Spectrum of Ambient Environment

Thank you in advance for your input.

[MrsSpud and I are looking for a tool that will help both of us to understand the characteristics of our soundscape and identify the elements that make hearing difficult.]

1 Like

I work (now part time) in a technical environment (light measurement for calibration of optical instruments) but I’m a novice at sound measurement. I’ve tried a couple of apps for iOS/iPadOS for measuring sound. Both come with caveats about accuracy when using the uncalibrated built-in microphones of a phone. For more accurate measurements, a calibrated microphone should be used and that calibration used in the app. However, I haven’t found a combination of app and microphone and device that have been certified as a system the way real (and expensive) sound meters are.

One app is from NIOSH called SLM (link found on a Mac so I hope it works on your iPad):

App Store NIOSH Sound Level Meter

It works on my iPad but doesn’t seem to support rotation so if you use a keyboard with an iPad in a “landscape” orientation, it doesn’t display correctly. It also appears to only make SPL and doesn’t offer a spectrum. It has been tested with some iPhone models in an acoustic test chamber and is reasonably accurate but not as accurate as a real, certified and calibrated, sound meter.

Another app that seems to work OK is SoundMeter X from Faber Acoustical:

App Store - SoundMeter X