...been struggling with hearing aids

Hi all

Sorry I’m new to hearing aids and whilst I am not new to hearing loss I certainly feel like I am!

I am 35 now and have probably had mild to moderate (higher frequency) loss since a young child. Found out first 13 years ago when I went for a medical to work on the railways, I scraped through but they would only give me a pass for a couple of years (rather than the usual 10) - until then I had thought all was fine.

Things came to a head last year when I shouted at my son for not looking at me when he was talking, “How am I supposed to hear you” etc etc. Hubby then insisted I went to be checked.

Anyway, hospital gave me Oticon Spirit Zests for both ears. 8 months later I am still struggling with them. I have the ones with the little tubes and domes - they itch! Are they always like that? I have cut off the extra bit of tube that curls inside your ear and they are now bearable. But I still find that I am really self conscious - people’s eyes are drawn to my ears when I am wearing them. And I really can’t work out how to use the phone with them in so I keep taking them out to make a call - every 5 minutes while I’m at work!

I appreciate my problems are probably trivial compared to some. I can survive without the aids but having to constantly say pardon, encourage people to face me and having to concentrate hard to understand is getting me more and more down. None of my friends or family having hearing loss so I have nothing to compare against really :frowning:

Thanks, Helen

Hi Helen,

I take it you got these HA’s from the NHS?