Audeo M-13T Questions

With a profound hearing loss I’ve been wearing super/power HA for last eight years. Widex Supper 440 with hard shell earmolds. Have a couple questions regarding Phonak’s M-13T model.

I. Is the M-13T considered a “super/power aid” that would be a good match for a profound hearing loss? Since its made for “mild to profound loss”, one has to question if that “fit range” or range adjustment level is best suited for someone with a profound hearing loss? One size fits all - not sure?

1. Since my current Widex HA’s are “super/ultra powered” would I be better off waiting for Phonak to come with a “super/ultra powered” Marvel HA? Or should I trial the M-13T now? If I wait for Marvel power aid any guess how long? This year, next?

2. And could the wait be for naught if/when super/ultra Marvel HA comes out its basically the same Audeo M style with just a larger battery - 675? So basically same HA, same functions with just a larger battery? Or more likely “better suited HA” for me since the hearing range would be tailored for someone with a (severe to profound loss) vs mild to profound and then larger battery for support?

HA manufactures are always going to make HA’s first for those with a mild to mid range loss, since that’s where the money is - most customers. Unfortunately those with a severe to profound hearing loss many times have to wait longer for new aids to come out. That wait can be frustrating.

0 Likes

It is a RIC style so you would have the receiver for your hearing loss.

0 Likes

Yes which would be good. I’m aware fellow posters here with severe/profound hearing loss are using/trailing M-13T. In my original message I did leave out the thought that maybe Phonak won’t ever make a power Marvel aid for “severe to profound” and just stay with the M-13T. But the fact that Phonak’s makes the Naida for “severe to profound” would leads me to think a new Marvel aid will come out just for the “severe to profound” range.