ASHA for Linux Systems

There’s ongoing work to enable ASHA protocol and connectivity under Linux. I’ve tested alpha build and got sound directly from my laptop, so it’s really promising.
There are various devices nowadays with flavor of Linux preinstalled, laptops, tablets, gaming devices [like SteamDeck which I own too].
Of course you can install it yourself as it’s free, but might be too much for non-techy people.

The sad thing is that it’s done by unpaid volunteers in their free time and definitively could have been done by manufacturers for Windows. But as we all know it would cut into profits from their overpriced accessories.

6 Likes

Which distro did you use?
Thx

I’m a developer, so my main is Gentoo, the secondary is Arch.
It won’t matter though since it’s using bluez/pipewire which is common to all popular distros nowadays.
Don’t be in a rush to test it out though, it cannot really stream, just play some test sounds.
It’s in early stages of developement [doesn’t look like it needs much to get to the usable state though].

2 Likes

Smashing, I hope they (Trovalds) will add Bluetooth LE & Auracast support to the kernel soon.
:+1:t3:

1 Like

Audio LE is already supported and it works with earbuds that have it. Auracast is already being worked on.
Auracast/LE Audio are a bigger priority since they’re posed for mass adoption.

p.s. it has nothing to do with Torvalds :smiley: he mostly reviews code for the kernel nowadays. This stuff comes from bluez/pipewire folks.
Pipewire is developed indirectly by IBM weirdly enough.

3 Likes

I don’t understand the hype.
I have been streaming bluetooth from my Linux for many years ??

You have Phonak devices, don’t you? They use classical univeral BT [also very power hungry]. ASHA is different beast, used by all other manufacturers.

Yes Phonak, I was under the impression that that was ASHA … and all the others used the made for Iphone … which is Bluetooth LE.