Anyone do self programming via the iCube?

Is the following true?

http://www.help2hear.org/10HA/FAQ1/1d)%20HOW%20TO%20DESTROY%20YOUR%20AIDS%20QUICKLY%20USING%20IPFG.pdf

I have never used the iCube before but i am going to start using it to program my aids, just came across that guide and not sure if that was a single circumstance?

Is it actually possible for the iCube to shut down your hearing aids so that they stop working or become unprogrammable?

Do i need to use fresh batteries each time?

I really don’t want to be sending my aids back for reformatting.

Thanks

It would help to know what brand and model hearing aids you have and want to program.

The iCube is used with Phonak and, I believe, Unitron hearing aids ALONG with the proper software program and version - older HA models use ‘iPFG’ and new models use ‘Target’ software. Be aware, that there are different versions of the software for different HA, i.e. iPFG 2.6b, Target 3.2.

I had experience with self programming and never came across or experienced what the article mentioned. ALL programming should be done with fresh batteries, and the programs remind you - just makes sense.

Had the same problem with programming my first set of Phonak. The batteries in my aids were too weak to receive the signals from the ICUBE. Had to return to Phonak, but luckily they were under warranty. ALWAYS install new batteries before programming and I always use a direct correct to my computer rather than risking a missed transmission using Bluetooth.

Which model of Phonak hearing aids are you using? What about software - which verson/model are you using?

I am using the Phonak Audeo Yes V aids and i have the IPFG 2.6c installed, does it really matter what aids i have or version i use?

Let me get this straight, if i happen to have the iCube and my aids connected to IPFG but my batteries just happen to run out, even if i’m not actually changing any settings, then i may need to send my aids back to Phonak?