Another frustrated transaction from analog to digitial

I’ve been wearing hearing aids for 49 years, in my time there’s been some major changes as I went through the transaction of what I wore when I was three, all the way up to now. At first I was pretty excited to hear about the new improved digital hearing aids, but now that I’m trying very hard to get adjusted to this one, I’m not a very happy camper.

I have a Phonak (spelled right?) in the ear, the first try out with this was horrible. Seems the aid decides what noises I should and should not hear, I’m self employed, my shop has all kinds of noises, my machine makes noises, it’s basically a moderate noise, and I have a bobbin winder, airconditioner, the phone, a dog (my alert attention for customers), if my machine is on, and the airconditioner comes on, the digital would cut off all sounds, I was on the phone, talking to a customer, the airconditioner came on, all sounds were gone. I have a speaker phone in the shop.
I noticed even my micowave would have an after beep, sort of like hearing the echo of the first beep. Most voices, my husbands, me, we all sound weird, like I’m hearing the last echo of the voice.
Now, I took the aid back, and she fixed it…I guess, however, now it still seems the digital makes the decision of what should and shouldn’t be heard, and still hearing the echo of beeps, there is no possible way I can hear on a handset phone, one phone call and all I could hear was beeps, garble, and lots more beeps.

So, I question myself about this transation from analog to digital, am I being stubborn? Most of me says no. I KNOW what I should be hearing, and I have been questioning my husband a lot, “OK, exactly what does this sound like to you? Do you hear an after effect of a sound, is there supposed to be a grainy sound to my voice?”