ADA definition of "reasonable accommodations" at work

I work in the medical field as a respiratory therapist. Recently I attended a “Code Blue” (cardiac arrest) and there were 14 people in the room shouting, alarms going off and the patient’s television was on.

2 days later it was brought to my attention by HR that several of the nurses felt I wasn’t listening. My supervisor and many of the staff are aware of my hearing loss for which I am wearing hearing aids (Starkey Livio 2000). I feel like I am being groomed for termination.

I’m wondering what the ADA says about the employer making “reasonable accommodations” in a case like this.

I’m considering consulting with an attorney who specializes in disability law.

You might consider looking at this from other viewpoints, including the person that was in cardiac arrest if he/she survived.

First, talk to your Human Resources department. They likely have an ADA expert.
Get your hearing problem documented. I ended up getting a form filled out by my ENT.

My case was different from yours and basically resolved by moving away from a noisy conference room to a cubicle with high walls.

I think your employer initially determines what is “reasonable” If you have any ideas, discuss it with them.

Diaclaimer: Since you mentioned ADA, I assume you are in the US.

Don’t know the rightness or wrongness of anything but one would think if your employer is aware of a disability and your job description requires performance in certain situations, that in an annual review your supervisor would be required to evaluate your ability to perform in such situations line item by line item. So your supervisor might bear some responsibility if he/she had previously determined that you were fit for that item in your job description.